diy solar

diy solar

100 watt versus 200 watt

vicwa20

This may be a dumb and very basic question. I see everyone using multiple 100 watt solar panels. Is there any advantage to using four 100 watt panels over two 200 watt panels? Thanks. I am new at this.

Good question. It depends on what your situation is, and what the equipment is. Most 100W panels are 12V panels, designed to be the right voltage to charge a 12V battery. If you need to charge a higher voltage battery bank, just wire them in series to get a higher voltage. It can be done with a simple, inexpensive PWM charge controller. Most 200W panels and above panels have a higher voltage than a 12V panel, and therefore need a more expensive MPPT charge controller to drop the output volts down and amps up to charge the battery bank. Plus they are physically bigger and need to ship via truck if ordering online, so may end up being a more expensive solution for the same total watts.

If you have shading issues where you are installing the solar array, wiring 4 panels in parallel may be better than wiring 2 in parallel, as the output of the 1 shaded panel won't affect the others as badly as if half your panels were shaded with 2.

Then there's the downside of having more wires to deal with with 4 panels instead of 2. There's other pros and cons too, that I'm sure others will bring up. So, it's not a black and white answer of x is better than y. Like most solar design questions, the answer is usually, it depends.

Thanks for the information. I am looking at Rich Solar which have 12 volt panels in both 100 watt and 200 watt. The cost per watt is similar. The 200 watt is about 11" longer and 7" wider. I have limited space on top of my 25' motorhome. One or two 200 watt panels may be easier to locate the four 100 watt panels. Or, I may have to mix 100 watt and 200 watt panels depending on the space between other items on my roof. I was just wondering if I should favor one size over the other. Thanks again.