diy solar

diy solar

12 Volt 400 watt system per Will Prowse

Redball1

I am new to this field. I used Will Prowse video to build a 400 watt system. It includes a 40 amp solar MPPT charger, 1500 watt sine wave inverter, four 100 watt solar panels, one AGM battery with some other fuse blocks, etc per his video.

I want to run a 5000 window AC. I have seen other videos of folks using 750 watts to do this. I have two questions:
1. If I increase my Solar panels to eight 100 watt solar panels, can I still use the 1500 watt Sine Wave Inverter?

2. How many 100 amp hour 12 volt batteries would I need to get (Lithium Iron Phosphate)? Thanks.

I am new to this field. I used Will Prowse video to build a 400 watt system. It includes a 40 amp solar MPPT charger, 1500 watt sine wave inverter, four 100 watt solar panels, one AGM battery with some other fuse blocks, etc per his video.

I want to run a 5000 window AC. I have seen other videos of folks using 750 watts to do this. I have two questions:
1. If I increase my Solar panels to eight 100 watt solar panels, can I still use the 1500 watt Sine Wave Inverter?

No. Your 40A charge controller will only deliver a maximum of 40A to the batteries/system.

Additionally, a window A/C typically has a very high surge current that would overload your 1500W inverter. Surge is probably on the order of 3000W. Yes, your inverter probably says 3000W max, but it's a lie. It can only provide that for milliseconds before it overloads. You need a surge rated measured in seconds.

2. How many 100 amp hour 12 volt batteries would I need to get (Lithium Iron Phosphate)? Thanks.

N/A.

For folks that live in the west/southwest, consider an evaporative cooler. We just bought a Bonaire 5900 for the house and it's been pretty amazing, even on the lowest setting where it's only pulling about 220w.