diy solar

diy solar

12v All in one Inverter charger for Europe RV

Rod8s

Hi All,

I'm from Ireland and a complete newbie now utilizing many hours of you tube tutorials during quarantine time.
Currently I'm researching van conversions and trying to choose suitable components for a 12v system.(Solar/Shore/Alternator)
After watching Will's video on MPP all in one systems for beginners I have looked into a number of options however I'm struggling to find a suitable comparison for Europe due to 220-240 shore power and without going up to 24v ?

For example:

- The MPP PIP 1012LV (Advertised by will) may not be suitable in Europe due to only 120VaC?

- Xantrax Freedom XC pro 2000/3000 looks like a great unit also 120VaC (also may require a separate MPPT charge controller for solar?)

-The Victron MultiPlus II 12/3000/120v (2x120vac) may be the closest match with my limited knowledge so far. But expensive

I am continuing to educate myself but if anyone provide any advise in this choice it would be a great help?

Thanks

Rod

Hi @Rod8s, welcome to the forum.
As you have noted with the 3 inverters in your post, they are 120v AC for North America.
You will need one for 230v for Europe.
You will also need to total up your wattage requirements to get an accurate picture of what you might need for an inverter/charger/battery(Ah).
Going with a 3000W inverter would be the upper limit for a 12v system. E.g. https://www.victronenergy.com/inverters-chargers/multiplus-ii
Don't be put off by the fact it says 10kw, the datasheet lists all sizes. You'd want the 12/3000/120-32 (230v): https://www.victronenergy.com/upload/documents/Datasheet-MultiPlus-II-inverter-charger-EN.pdf
Mind you, these are just some examples, and looking at MPP Solar site, It seems you need to go to 24v to get a 3kw inverter for 230v.
As for Xantrex, theirs also only start at 24v for European standards: https://www.xantrex.com/power-products/inverter-chargers/overview.aspx