diy solar

diy solar

12v Battery blowing fuse

Chromdome35

1st, I hope I'm posting this in the right forum, apologies if I'm not. I'm pretty new to all of this and have a situation that I need someone to explain to me.

I have a 12v 18ah SLA battery, showing 13.4V at the terminals.
I have a 12v load that will pull 3.3-8 amps that I want to connect to the battery.
Between the battery and the load will be.
Battery Clamps connected to what appears to be 14ga Wire (They are Battery clamps from one of my 12v battery chargers).
The wire coming from the battery clamps has an inline 10amp fuse
The wire from the battery terminates in an SAE connector.
The SAE connector plugs into another SAE Connector with 14ga wire terminated at a fuse block with each input having its own 10amp fuse. (polarity is verified correct)
From the fuse block the load is connected via 14ga wire.
Connected to the circuit between the fuse block and the load are a Voltage/Amp meter on the negative wire with a pigtail to the positive wire AND an On/Off switch on the positive rail with a pigtail to the negative wire (lighted switch).

The wiring layout described above (if i described it correctly) has been working fine when I used a 12v bench power supply, a different 12v 6ah battery, and a 20v tool battery connected via a power adapter.

When I connect the 12v 18ah battery, both 10amp fuses (1 inline right after clamps and 1 in the fuse block) blow immediately. The switch to the load is off, the only load that is receiving power is the voltage/amperage meter in the circuit.

Why would a 12v battery with no load other than a meter blow a fuse on connection to the circuit which works fine with other power sources???

What is the nature of your load? A motor (inductive), light (resistive), inverter (capacitive), etc.? You may have an inrush current issue.

Last edited: