diy solar

diy solar

12v heating pad?

Sojourner1

Itinerant
As a fulltimer living off lfp/ solar not being able to charge the batteries could be an issue as I recently found out.
20191120_102304-2064x1548.jpg
20180426_114516.jpg

I'm thinking here of adding a 12v heating pad under my battery bank in the rv. This will be a backup for if it really gets cold or one of the heating sources for the compartment goes south. We all know that lfp batteries shouldn't be charged below 32°f and with my batteries the EMS will shut charging down if any of the 20 prismatic cells do drop below 32°f, after 44 months we were in extreme cold and couldn't move from it like we normally would do.

I have no experience with this pad maybe someone else does or installed something similar. It has a built-in thermostat that is set to turn itself on at 45°F( + - 5 degrees) and turn itself off at 68°F( + - 5 degrees). As long as the on/ off switch is in the on position.

This is what I'm thinking of using...
Facon 12v heating pad 7.5" x 25"

These are sitting directly on the metal floor of the compartment and the furthest cells (17-20) can be 4°f colder than other cells (I can see all individual cell temps/ voltages). I can raise the batteries about 1 inch. My thought is to pull the batteries out of the enclouser their in (keeps them moving) putting 1/4" piece of plywood on the bottom (maybe a thin piece of solid foam insulation under it), piece of felt on the plywood top, the heating pad normally would get stuck to a plastic holding tank/ water tank I was thinking of getting a piece of aluminum and sticking the pad to the bottom of it to tansfer the heat better, then putting a piece of felt on the top of aluminum with the batteries on top of that.

Looking like this...
Batteries
Felt
Aluminum sheet
12v Heating pad
Felt
1/4" plywood
(Maybe) Thin foam insulation
Metal compartment floor