diy solar

diy solar

1975 Airstream Rebuild

AirStreamJoe

Hello everyone, been watching a ton of Will Prowse's videos regarding inverter/charger/battery setups and really enjoy his information, not sure how I landed here, but I'm happy I did!

I purchased a 1975 31 foot Airstream a few years ago and have just finished building the new frame from 316L Stainless. Now I am moving on to constructing the electrical system. Keep in mind I only have electrical experience from reading the internet for the last 4 months and talking to other folks and watching a zillion YouTube videos. I have selected all the parts for the Airstream, perhaps someone with a bit more electrical knowledge could help me get this baby put together. I am a computer programmer as a career and have programmed some custom software for my Nvidia Jetson TX2 arm based computer in order to have automated control over my level tank level, lights on / off / dimming, coach orientation via gyroscope, gps, water pumps, window tint, self leveling, temperature readings, as well as some security features.

I don't need this to be a 'can run off grid forever machine' the solar just supplements my 'quite time' while I work on the computer mainly.. I could even use the Bose headphones while I program with the gen-set charging up for a bit if required.. but I just wanted to state this doesn't need to be a sustainable 'off-grid' setup, but able to run the loads requested for the times requested without shore power 100% of the time for periods of about 5 days max ( a work week ). Also bear in mind I will never run every electrical item at the same time.

The following are the items I have considering putting into the system, the generator, as well as a list of electrical appliances that need to be able to be run and their estimated run times. I know I am missing from the list -- fuses, and cuttoffs as well as the wiring / gauge as well as potentially more..

"Tow Vehicle"