diy solar

diy solar

1st time ever planning to set up a solar system (265W Polycrystalline Solar Panel x 4)

Hatorri

I recently purchased from a neighbor a 2 year old used Polycrystalline 265W solar panels. He also sold to me his solar charge controller MPP Solar PIP-1012LV-MS/1000W Output/All in One Solar Inverter/Charger/Controller. Although I rather be using monocrystalline solar panels, I accidentally purchased these before I realized the mono's were black and poly's were blue. Since this was just a learning project, I figure I'll go with it and I didn't spend too much for them ($75 per panel, $30 for the PIP). My background is in EE and I did my special topic alternative energy course focusing on solar power but as I have read other forum posts, that doesn't guarantee that I will know all there is to know about setting one up (ie I did not know about using a BMS for the battery bank). This site also allowed me to learn how to buy the battery cells and how to put them together. I ran across this forum while watching some of Will Pros's youtube videos. As for the project in mind, I don't have a real target goal as to what I'd like this system to do yet but I do know that what I learn from successfully setting this up is that I will feel more confident when I decide to build a 23kW off-grid setup for my 5 acre farm. I'd like some assistance in this small solar project of mine. Thanks in advance.