diy solar

diy solar

2000 ah check, inverter ? What else do I need.

Yes day

Good day guys I have a boat system that need updating.
currently I have 800ah 4 year old lead acid, 1.7 kw panels @ 285 x6
2 x 2000W inverter
2 c Outback Flex 80
60 A shore power battery charger Xantrex

so far I have the batteries 2000ah lip04
I will keep the outback’s if I don’t go with an all in one inverter

I am ditxhing the lead acid batteries and inverters.

i have bifacials panels in my cart and ready to swap out for my current panels but i am stuck on the fact that they will over hang 12inch from the boat roof and if the current installment bolts will work for the bifacials as the panels are the same width just longer on length. I will also be adding 111 lbs extra to the roof.

My mind is set on an all in one that makes everything much much easier.
I am new to lithium and solar but have been reading along for about a year.
Anyone I ask for their input that’s a marine electrician has no idea what i am doing and quotes me for 2-10k to assist with simple final connections.
My very easy plan other then swapping panels and choosing inverter all in one or victron 12/24/48 V is

option 1.
All new batteries 1600 ah 24 or 48 V system ( batteries 24 or 48, inverter to match ) 400 ah remains in 12 V for navigation lights and electronics and the rest of the boat pumps lights circulating fans. Many options for inverter

Option 2. All new batteries all in 12v use victron 2 5kw or 1 10 kw. Victron only option for the 12v

Anyone out there ?? I guess I will assimilate and continue on with all 12v. All the wiring is here why change it? Why run at 48v or 24v?

If you are converting to Lithium and don't know much about it, this is a must read:
His recommendations are high end and pretty pricy, plenty of people do it cheaper than his recommendations. But you need to know the issues. His recommendations for the higher priced stuff comes from experience.