diy solar

diy solar

2000w, 24v solar system

guidecca

Hello Folks,

I'm trying to buy parts for and build a 2000w, 24v solar-powered system. I'm a newbie.

On Will Prowse's website here: https://www.mobile-solarpower.com/2000-watt-24v-solar-system.html, under the picture (attached) he states that, "Due to a recent change by Victron, the battery protect is not recommended for this system. Just connect everything to a bus bar or surface mount terminal."

He calls it the battery protect but it does not look like the blue item in his video here:
My question is what would picture revised without the blue battery protect look like?

Is this the battery protect mentioned in the video: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B079ZL6WPD/ref=ox_sc_act_title_23?smid=A2TN19FHI2Z5KL&th=1

Also, he mentions using 4 gauge wire for battery to inverter. Should I use 4 or 2 gauge? Thank you for any assistance.

Attachments

• csdcddd_orig.jpg
    csdcddd_orig.jpg
    134.1 KB · Views: 33
You've linked a fuse holder, not the battery protect.

You can always use thicker wire.

Thank you for pointing that out. There was no link to the battery protect on the components list and since it is not needed now, how would the wiring look? Wondering where the wires that went to the battery protect are supposed to go now. At least it got me to wondering whether I'm up to building this thing. I've already ordered four 100 Watt 12 Volt Monocrystalline Solar Panels. Maybe I should buy the book.

Last edited:
In most cases, the battery protect is just omitted. The way it's being used in that video is against the manuf's recommendations. It's not designed for that. It has to do with the surge of the inverter when it's reconnected - it can greatly exceed the rating as the inverter capacitors charge when first connected.

Reactions: Dzl
I was hoping to leverage the 24v system for more power. Will made it look easy. I don't know now.