diy solar

diy solar

200w solar system expectations...

Entwicklung34

Hi.

I'm new to all this, but learning a lot and enjoying it. All advice appreciated.

So I have 2x 100w solar panels (and about to add a third) mounted on a South facing 15degree roof in parallel hooked up to a 30amp controller and 1200watt inverter. For storage I have two 110ah solar leisure batteries also wired in parallel.

I've been using the system to charge a couple of phones/iPads and run a small TV for a few hours of a night (pulling about 25watts) and my son's Nintendo switch. It has been brilliant for all of this - really happy with it!

I've also now wired some wall lights into the system (2 of them at 9watts each) and my wife has recently started using these of a day whilst working from home. She also charges her laptop on using the solar via a plug socket I put in for this purpose.

Looking at the wattage for all of the charging and lights I was expecting to have plenty of energy stored in the battery to cover a few shady days if needed and to be able to power more lights etc with this but today the solar cut out and the inverter turned off, I assume because of low voltage. The controller was showing 12.1 when I looked and it does charge up to 14.4 when full iirc.

I'm wondering if my expectations of this system are a bit too high?! I planned to add a couple of plug sockets upstairs just for lamps in a couple of bedrooms, but not sure whether it could handle any more at the moment.

I'm thinking I need to angle the panels up more to around 30degrees and add my third panel to get the batteries charged back up quicker.

Any other thoughts/comments I would really appreciate as I am really enjoying the mission of achieving some off grid power!

I'll add some pictures below of what I've got set up so far...

So how many KWhr are you using in 24 hours?
What kind of SCC are you using?
Do you know how many KWhr the SCC is producing per day?

Last edited: