diy solar

diy solar

220 Volt Panels. How to convert to 110 AC?

Chevyjim

Hi, I am new at configuring solar panels and could use some suggestions. I came across some 220 Volt solar panels at warehouse auction at a good price and would like to experiment with them. They are made by First Solar and have an open circuit voltage of 220 Volts and short circuit current of 2.55 amps. What options do I have to convert these to run something on 110 AC? Seems like the most popular panels have a much lower output voltage like 12 V DC.

Get an MPPT charge controller that can handle about 250-275V depending on your coldest temperatures, put a bunch of the panels in parallel, and hookup to a battery and inverter.

How many watts are the panels? How many do you have? That will determine what battery voltage you need.

The Solar panel seem to be the FS-6440 or FS-6440A
You need an MPPT charge controller that can handle at least 250V and then you would put them in parallel with each other, each one adding 2.55 amps to the total. The total Amps cannot exceed what the charge controller can handle.
If you have the money this charge controller would work.
Victron 250V/60A
Probably overkill for your needs but it's a solid product.

After that you need some batteries for the charge controller to charge and lastly those batteries are connected to an Inverter that changes the batteries output to 120V AC.

Last edited:
Thanks for the replies! They are model FS- 6640A and have a rating of 440 watts. I have 20 of these. So if I understand right, the MPPT controller reduces the voltage to 12 VDC and connects to back up batteries? Then I use an inverter to go from 12 VDC to 110 AC? I am familiar with the parallel amperage and wattage parts of the equation.