diy solar

diy solar

24v battery, 24-12 40a step down buck converter, DC devices not working...

Owen Parker

I'm new at this but have a pretty solid basic understanding. Troubleshooting seems to be the weakness. Finally connected my 24v 280ah battery to the electrical system in the van. All the 120 stuff works as expected (except the transfer switch but we'll leave that to another time). Problem seems to be the 12v dc panel. Mostly. I have the usual fare, lights, usb charger, pump, 2nd fuse block, etc. Nothing is working except the pump. I tested every single device on the bench before installing in the van, so I am a tad surprised.

Basically, a fused wire runs from the lynx distributor to a 24v-12v 40A buck converter. Wires from that feed the dc panel in the distribution box. When I check the voltage at the connection point of the panel, I get 12.2v. Seems lowish, but 12v is 12v I'm surmising. I added proper DC fuses and nothing came on except the pump. Boo. I checked the power at the pos & neg posts for the usb charger and 12.2v. Hmm. I disconnected the usb charger from the panel and connected it to an external 12v power supply. Worked like a charm. Checked the power and it was 13.4v. Hmm So, device works, power getting to the panel is supposedly good. I'm stuck wondering what else to check. I'm left to guess the buck converter is tamping the volts down a tad too low, or ??? Can anyone suggest anything else to check?

If the 24-12 converter is too low, I have no idea what else to use to convert the 24v down to 12v for all my DC stuff. I'd appreciate any suggestions on alternatives as well. It is a couple grand too late to switch to 12v battery, so let's not suggest that! :)

TIA

Last edited:
Check all your connections down stream from your DC/DC converter. Make sure they are tight. *edit* and upstream too while you’re at it. Maybe the converter is being starved of current and your 12v is output is collapsing.