diy solar

diy solar

24v System shutting down ~24.9v

utahbiker

Hey team, this is only my 2nd post and I'm a little nervous posting up my issue since I'm still very new to the game, but I'm not sure where to turn and if anyone else is using the same setup that I have, hopefully my issue (and possibly answer) might help someone else.

I bought the Growatt SPF 3000TL LVM-24P along with a LiFePO4 24v 100Ah with built in BMS - both from watts247.com. No matter what settings I use, my Growatt shuts down when my battery gets ~24.9v. Doesn't matter if I've got utility power, solar power, or using AC output with minimal pull. My battery will read 8 or 9 volts after the system shuts down and the battery will only jump back up to ~25.5v once I disconnect the battery from the Growatt for maybe 5 minutes. I feel like this is a BMS protection kicking in somehow, but I'm unsure. Also, I don't receive any fault warnings on my Growatt. I've even recorded it all happening and there are zero warnings.

One thing I'm unsure of is the nominal voltage and bulk charge point that watts247.com has stated is needed for the batter... 25.6v for both. That seems low for all of the other LiFePO4 batteries I've seen out there. A Relion battery of similar capacity has very different float and bulk point. I'm not sure if this is what I'm dealing with but wanted to ask, since I can't seem to find any information about this battery manufacturer (e-sunstone.com?).

Any suggestions?

Yes, that sounds like it, your BMS is disconnecting for some reason.

It's lifepo4 so you can assume standard charging voltages. Victron chargers default to 28.4V for bulk/boost/absorption (which ever term you prefer), and 27V for float. 25.6V for a 24V lifepo4 is abnormally low charge target voltage. I would contact the battery manufacturer to confirm that voltage.