diy solar

diy solar

3.2 Volt 50AH Lithium batteries for $50 on ebay. Would these be a good choice to build an RV solar system battery bank?

With shipping, that's $268 for one 12V 50Ah battery, less than 1/2 the price of a ready-to-go 12V 50Ah battery. You just have to build it up.

Was thinking that when connected they would be 12 volt 200AH,......but I am new to all this,....just learning and I do appear to have a brain block for the series/parallel math.

If you wired them in series, 3.2V each x 4 cells = 12.8VDC. Since they are in series, the amps stay the same, so whether it's one cell or 10, it's still 50Ah.

If you wired 4 of them in parallel, then you'd have a 3.2VDC battery at 200Ah. To get 12.8VDC at 200Ah, you need 16 cells, 4 each in series to make 12.8VDC, then parallel it with 3 more of the same to get 12.8VDC at 200Ah.

I bought these batteries from this seller, 8 of them in series, 24V at 50Ah, 1,280 Watts total potential for $459.36 USD. I'm very happy with them after almost 2 months now. I've been using them most everyday since.

I got them mainly as a test bed to learn from and explore options towards a larger system. Great for testing and small capacity usage as I didn't make a huge investment if I were to damage them through experimentation.

NOTE: I had to make my own battery buss bars and I bought an active BMS and other associated accessories (ie. battery protect, meters, fuses, breakers, cabling, tools, connectors, etc...), about another $250 or so.

For RV usage, I would think going with larger Ah batteries would be preferred. 4 batteries, 12V at 50Ah is about 640 Watts per cycle. And don't forget to consider efficiency/ conversion losses (~15% or so) if you're using an inverter to power AC devices.

Last edited:
I would recommend this as a better value (Free shipping and buss bars) Its also the same company Lionenergy."Here" ( I have a pac from them ) They have GREAT customer service. At 400.00 for 8 cells.