diy solar

diy solar

3-stage charge controller worthwhile?

william2021

Hi, I'm still learning while trying and just got a question. I have two Duracell 6-volt 1kWh golf car batteries in serial and 4 100W panels in serial. Currently I bought a Sunnysky 60A MPPT charge controller. I just learned that it's not a 4-stage charger. Is it worthwhile changing to a 3-stage controller such as Epever or Renogy?

The reason I'm wondering is, I never got the expected 1600Wh from the panels any day, the most I got was 571Wh. Of course it has to do with the many cloudy days and the direction the panels were installed. However one day the following happened:

1. charge controller was charging at 39W under clear sun with 12.8V measured on the battery (partly due to Peuker's Law)

2. I ran a 600W cooker via an inverter, and the voltage quickly dropped to 11.9V

3. AND the charger now charges at 175W! with nothing else changed!

That makes me thinking - maybe my charge controller was not charging as much as it could? Would a 4-stage charge be able to charge close to 175W instead of 39W at 12.8V (during charging, of course)? What the percentage a 4-stage charge controller can charge more per day?

A minor question is, for a 12V battery system, what voltage at rest is considered 100% full? I've seen it charged to 13.1, 12.9 etc, yet people appear to suggest it at 12.7V. But I definitely never obtained close to 1000Wh when the 2000Wh battery system discharged from 12.7 to 12.2V (which is supposed to be 50% full).

Thanks!
William

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.

Most chargers are 3 stage. What's this 4th stage of which you speak?

That makes me thinking - maybe my charge controller was not charging as much as it could?
What are the settings on your solar charge controller (SCC)?
What is your battery bank?
How are your 4 panels placed in regards to the sun? Angled properly or on a flat roof? Any partial shading?