diy solar

diy solar

36v to 12v

Kamaleon91

Hi I've been having an issue with my diy solar generator. I can't seem to get the 12v buck converter to hold 12v it keeps dropping to around 9v I've already changed the buck converter to a new 30amp one and still not working properly any help would greatly be appreciated.

Hi I've been having an issue with my diy solar generator. I can't seem to get the 12v buck converter to hold 12v it keeps dropping to around 9v I've already changed the buck converter to a new 30amp one and still not working properly any help would greatly be appreciated.
Make, model, brand, spec, link to this buck converter?
What is battery measured Voltage feeding the buck converter with and without load?

The battery is 36v so it's 12 30 cell scooter packs there is enough power going into the buck converter as to not drop bellow the 12v but yet it drops to around 9v with the load. Like I said I'm new to this I was thinking about buying an adjustable buck converter but not sure which one to purchase or if it will even help.

Did you measure the converter input voltage with the load on? Measure next to the converter?

Have you tried a smaller load? (Vehicle stop lamp) Same effect?

How big is the load? What current does it draw from a 12V vehicle battery?

It's a Chinese diesel heater and a iceco vl75 pro fridge not running both at the same time but would like to I'm able to run the fridge on eco which draws less power I've ran a few 12v led lights with no issues but for the amount of money I've put into this project I should be able to run as good or much better than a store bought unit

Any idea how much the diesel heater uses?
When starting up mine regularly hit 13a between the fan, pump, and glow plug. Once the glow plug turns off it drops back down to the 3-4a range. That glow plug is gonna be a problem. Many premade solar generators have issues getting enough amperage out of their 12v plugs to reliably fire those up.