diy solar

diy solar

40 amp Charge Controller and 3000 watt invertor

danielsjoseph891

I'm still ordering components, and this actually why I'm posting. I have (4) 100 watt panels that will be connected to a 40 amp charge controller, that will be charging (2) 100 ah 12 v lithium iron phosphate batteries. I was going to go with a 2000 watt pure sine wave invertor but would like to use a 3000 watt because I would like to use a small selection of household appliances. What I'd like to know, plain and simple, as in someone says "do it" or "don't do it", is can I use a 3000 watt with the system I've outlined above?
I assume there is no domino effect on the system, but I'm new to all of this and don't want to waste time shipping it back, or money.
Thanks,
Joe

3000 ac watts / .85 conversion factor / 12 volts low cutoff = ~294 dc amps
~294 dc amps / .8 fuse headroom = ~367 fuse amps
By the book you can use 3/0 awg wire with 105C insulation.
But I really doubt your want your wires getting hotter than boiling water.
If you use 2x 4/0 awg then the temperature goes down to 60C.
Assuming your batteries have a 1c continuous discharge rate you will be exceeding their specification.
2000 watts is a practical upper limit for 12 volt systems.

Reactions: Mia