diy solar

diy solar

400W Array Functioning at Only 64%.

longbedbob

I have been working on the system on my fifth wheel camper since we bought it a few months ago and finally completed the first array this weekend.

I have four x 100w Renogy panels arranged in parallel. They feed a Renogy 30A PWM charge controller through mostly AWG 10 wiring @25' but the newest and most distant panels use AWG 8 to create a total ~ 35' run. I am using new 4 x 100 amp hour lead acid batteries in parallel.

The panels are mounted flat and the battery was topped off. But I energized my inverter, dialed up the furnace and basically powered on all the DC load at my disposal.

At midday on Saturday all of the panels were seeing full sun, which was at ~ 62 degrees elevation. Using some trigonometry this yields 88% optimum PV so my theoretical maximum should be 352 watts.

However, the Renogy Bluetooth module was only stating that I was charging at 255 watts, or 72% of PV that was available.

I removed a panel and the power dropped to 190 watts. So, it seems that each panel is producing 65 watts or it's a bizarre coincidence that the panel production tracks the overall efficiency percentage (100 watt panels make the math easy, LOL).

I understand that there might be up to 5% voltage drop in the wiring by using AWG 10 for that run and the hot panels would diminish the output slightly. Also, PWM charge controllers are not that efficient but the DC to DC conversion shouldn't cause that much of a discrepancy.

Unless I have some defective equipment or wiring issues, the only thing that I can think of would be that the output from the charge controller is reflecting the state of the lead acid battery. Is the output of the charge controller "seeing" the battery charging inefficiency and the actual output would be higher for a resisitive load or LFP battery?

Thoughts?