diy solar

diy solar

48v Off Grid Blueprint for Northern Cal?

jerander

Hello All,

I'm a general contractor in northern California and recently purchased some land in Sonoma county. We are in the process of developing the 5 sunny acres and are choosing to go off grid, although there is the option to tie into the grid but would require spending some money to add a pole since the run to the closest pole is about 250 feet away from our proposed building site.

I have some experience working with low voltage systems but have no solar experience and am looking for some assistance in coming up with a build. Presently there is only one ADU (guesthouse) on the property currently and we have not yet built the permanent home therefore I have no historic consumption data to help determine our estimated loads. We are on well/septic so we have the loads for the pumps and our plan is to build a 3BR home with a pool in addition to the existing guesthouse.

We are also in the process of permitting a pole barn and I was planning on mounting the PV array on the roof of the bar with a true southern exposure. We have plenty of places where we could also put a ground mounted array with full sunlight. We are weighing the pros and cons of putting the array on the roof since it's a light gauge metal building and we don't want to have to reinforce it to support the potential weight of the array.

I'm done lots of internet research and have heard many different ideas about the best bang for your buck. I have watched tons of the Will Prowse videos and am drawn to the idea of doing a 48v system perhaps with the Growatt 48V SPF 12kW DVM MPV 250VDC. I like the idea of a hybrid inverter but I also don't want to buy into a "combo" system which will potentially limit expandability. I thought I would buy a couple of the Sig Solar EG4 48v 100AH LiKEPower4 Batteries to start which would give me 200 amp hours of storage. Does this seem like a sound idea?