diy solar

diy solar

5 Digit Accurate Volt Meter

sshibly

Solar Enthusiast
I am just getting into Li batts and my el cheapo meters are lying to me.

I read that some volt meters are more accurate than others.

What is an accurate volt meter on amazon or ali?

How does one use a voltage reference module?

These cells are 3.2V. 1% accuracy is 0.032V. Most meters report 0.00V accuracy. .01V accuracy is 0.3% of the measured value.

0.3% accuracy is more than enough. Many meters report .001V, which is 0.03% accuracy on these cells. 5 digits is pretty absurd unless you're engaged in scientific efforts where 5 digits matters. In the case of this forum, it's rare that more than 0.00 digits would be meaningful.

A voltage reference is a name given to a device that supposedly has a very accurate voltage to which meters can be checked and calibrated. Expensive ones are probably pretty accurate. Cheap ones are less so. I bought a cheap one one. When my Fluke read exactly the correct voltage to .000, I was confident the reference was accurate enough to calibrate my other meters to it.

Take a look at the Fluke 115 if you want to step up to a decent meter. It is a poor man's Fluke but still much better than a cheapie. However, for just about anything solar related you can get by with a < $50 meter. One thing about the Fluke is I trust the safety rating , CAT III I think. You will never need a 5 digit meter, as Snoobler said that is lab grade gear. I do have voltage, resistance and capacitance standards and the truth is I don't need them and occasionally use them just to make me feel cool.

I have a Fluke 87 from the mid-90's that does most of my solar work. It is durable. It is trustworthy. It has literally traveled the planet and worked in all sorts of exotic locations. It was chose for it's reliability and it has delivered. Accuracy - is probably about 10x what is needed for almost all solar related things.