diy solar

diy solar

8 solar panels in series to two inverters.

Guido81

Hi,

Beginner here ;-)

Last year i ordered 2 Growatt 5kW Stackable Off-Grid Inverters | SPF 5000 ES-US plus 2 EG4-LifePower4 Lithium Batteries | 48V 100AH.

I am just now setting it up and something is not clear to me.

I have 8, 450 watt 48v solar panels. I can put them all in series and have 384v going trough one black and red cable going to my house. I can connect that to one inverter since the inverter can handle 450v.

But how do i connect it to two inverters? And do i need to connect it to two inverters? I think i need to because they need solar and battery input right?

The inverters will be in parallel.

So can i split the red and black cable in the house and then connect to both inverters? Or do i need to put four solar panels in series and connect to one inverter and then put the other 4 solar panels in series and connect to the other inverter?

I attached an image on how i think i should do it. This way it's only going to be one red and one black cable coming form my solar panels. About 120feet away.

Thanks
Guido

Attachments

• solar-inverters.jpg
    solar-inverters.jpg
    59.4 KB · Views: 8
What is the minimum voltage your inverter needs from solar to function? That would be the only constraint that might require a different solution

The inverters dont both need PV input. They do have to be connected the the same battery.
you also list 3600w of PV for 10Kw of inverter. The performance of such a system will be..... extremely limited.

It's all in you manual. Just look for a pic that looks like this. The batteries must be wired in parallel, becuase the two units must be receiving exactly the same DC voltage.
1655737380349.png

....you also list 3600w of PV for 10Kw of inverter. The performance of such a system will be..... extremely limited.