diy solar

diy solar

9500w generator wiring

tialiden

I am a newb looking for relatively inexpensive DIY wiring options that would maximize output from my single phase 240v Pulsar G12KBN 12000W peak, 9.5Kw rated (w/gasoline) to emergency power my grid tied home. Solar is not currently in the mix with this, but that is hopefully coming later. Generator has a L14-50R AND a L14-30 plug, plus 4 120v 20A outlets, and a 12V 8.3A outlet (bat charger). I'm tend to overthink things, but want to keep this fairly simple (K.I.S.S.) while also following codes and being safe. I tried looking for a beginners guide to generators, here but didn't find it.

• I prefer NOT to wire subpanel for critical load and would be ok with just using the existing panel and breakers manually choosing what to power up.
  • I have an Electric Dryer which I will NOT power for obv reasons.
  • I have natural gas furnace and old tank water heater.
  • I run LED's in nearly every light in the home, home is modern, well insulated, ranch, just under 2k sq ft.
  • I live in the South, so AC cooling is almost a must. I have a Trane XR15 4TTR5048E100AC 4T Central AC which I'd like to be able to run, so also purchased the Microair 368-x72 Blue to drop the 109 Locked Rotor Amps (26A min circuit ampacity, comp: RLA 19.9A) to something manageable that the generator should be able to handle.
  • I do not (yet) have any subpanels, just the 200A Cutler Hammer main panel / breaker setup in my attached garage, on outside wall where I'll place my generator outside.
  • Diagram of Gen and polarity test indicates this is 'Bonded Neutral'.
Items I have bought so far for this project:
  • 50 Amp Generator Power Inlet Box NEMA SS 2-50P ETL as a way to connect to my main panel via manual Interlock to prevent backfeed to Main.
  • CH / Eaton Pre2019 1-1/2" Interlock Kit for my existing 200A Panel.