diy solar

diy solar

A "panel + power station" semi-portable RV solar system. Thoughts?

helloterran

Hi guys, solar newbie here, recently found this forum and learned a lot!

I'm building a RV solar system to allow occasional work-from-roadtrip spanning 1-2 weeks at most. (I'm an IT professional). I primarily visit national and state parks. Would prefer boondocking but probably will visit full hookup campground once a week.

The current plan is to power every RV appliance either by the original in-house battery, generator or propane, and plug only work-related devices to the power stations.

In total I need to power:
2 17" macbook pros, 2 27inch monitors, 2-3 cellphones + booster, plus starlink (that's a constant power sucker!). All needs to be powered 8-12 hrs a day
So I need a lot of AH, but I don't need too much inverter power (the larger the inverter, the larger the idle draw).

The reason for going power station instead of battery+inverter charger+solar charger + alternator charger are (let me know if these analysis makes sense):
1. I don't want to drill too many holes on my RV shell
2. RV is old, investing too much on a dedicated rv system doesn't make much sense.
3. I want to be able to easily move the whole system to another RV in a year or so.

I recently acquired 2 Bluetti eb240 boxes mainly for my class c, and am looking for inexpensive 400-600w panels just to keep them charged on the road or at no-hookup sites. Any recommendation is much appreciated!

Last edited:
Personally I think the power stations are the shiznit. I spent a lot of time effort and money upgrading my entire charging system and a DIY lifepo pack in a 17yo winnebago motorhome, and still bought a Ecoflow Delta Mini, just because they're so cool and so handy. And will power up way more than my 600w inverter can.