diy solar

diy solar

Absorption stage

CoachMcG

Is it a big deal if i shut down my generator (stop charging ) during the absorption stage of the charging cycle?

I have a Samlex 2224 inverter charger and it automatically sets the absorption time of the cycle at 10times the length of the Bulk cycle. In other words, if it charges for 1 hour during Bulk stage, it will charge for 10 hours in absorption before going to float.

I Run 4x 12V sealed AGM rated at 82.5Ah in series/parralel.

It's a new setup so i'm still learning and very cautious. I don't let them go below 25V (approx 80%) before charging. I'm currently charging at 20A. Manufacturer recommends up to 25A. I'm thinking of going to 25 in order to speed up the Bulk stage and in return lowering the amount of time in the absorption stage.

Once in the absorption stage, the Voltage stabilizes (28.77) and the current gradually diminishes to 0Amps if i understand my manual correctly. That being said, it's been sitting at around 0.3 to 0.6A for the past hour and a half. I started charging around midnight and it,s now 09:50 (almost 10 hours). I checked throughout the night and it's been sitting at 28.77V for a long time.

So back to the original question... is it bad for my system if i shutt down the generator (solar panels not yet part of the system... coming soon) before reaching the float stage?

Thanks!

So that's about 330Ah total? 300mA on that sort of capacity battery says you are fully charged and have been for some time. Depending on who you believe, 1650mA absorption charge current should have you have fully charged with voltage seen on the battery posts being at your charger's target. Check with your battery's manufacturer to see if they specify a particular end current otherwise assume 0.5% of the battery's amp hours.

Assuming, 165Ah of 24V battery.

Charging should be at 16.5-33A optimally for a typical AGM.