Accessing Victron Multiplus Settings?

bluetrepidation

New Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
7
Hello,

I'm considering purchasing a original Multiplus. What cable do I need to configure the device? If I install a Control GX can I access all the settings via it instead of purchasing the USB cable?

Thanks,
A.J.
 

rmaddy

Full-time Solar-powered Trailer Life
Joined
Nov 16, 2019
Messages
1,228
The MultiPlus has 2 ports for UTP cables. Those are untwisted pair network cables. Search on B008F0XPLS at Amazon for one example. You can pick the color and length.

You can't access the MultiPlus settings with a Cerbo GX or similar. You need to run VictronConnect or VEConfigure3 on your computer to access the settings. In order to connect the MultiPlus to your computer you need a Victron MK3 VE.Bus to USB adapter (https://www.victronenergy.com/accessories/interface-mk3-usb) and a UTP cable.
 

jwelter99

Solar Addict
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Messages
552
The MultiPlus has 2 ports for UTP cables. Those are untwisted pair network cables. Search on B008F0XPLS at Amazon for one example. You can pick the color and length.

You can't access the MultiPlus settings with a Cerbo GX or similar. You need to run VictronConnect or VEConfigure3 on your computer to access the settings. In order to connect the MultiPlus to your computer you need a Victron MK3 VE.Bus to USB adapter (https://www.victronenergy.com/accessories/interface-mk3-usb) and a UTP cable.

Not really correct.

You can do all this remotely now with a Cerbo GX. You need to get VRM going and then can download the Multiplus settings via VRM, take into VEConfigure3, change settings, write out updated file, and use VRM to load it back. You can also upload firmware this way - via VRM.

So no MK3 required any longer. No USB connection required.
 

rmaddy

Full-time Solar-powered Trailer Life
Joined
Nov 16, 2019
Messages
1,228
Not really correct.

You can do all this remotely now with a Cerbo GX. You need to get VRM going and then can download the Multiplus settings via VRM, take into VEConfigure3, change settings, write out updated file, and use VRM to load it back. You can also upload firmware this way - via VRM.

So no MK3 required any longer. No USB connection required.
I forgot about that feature of VRM. I have my MultiPlus hooked up to Raspberry Pi and I've downloaded the settings via VRM once or twice but only to look at the settings. I've never uploaded updated settings.
 

jwelter99

Solar Addict
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Messages
552
I forgot about that feature of VRM. I have my MultiPlus hooked up to Raspberry Pi and I've downloaded the settings via VRM once or twice but only to look at the settings. I've never uploaded updated settings.

Works great, and makes working on a remote install a lot easier.

Just *make sure* that whatever is running Venus OS is not powered by the Multiplus.... It will ask you many times to confirm during a firmware load as it is a sure fire way to brick the device if so.
 

rmaddy

Full-time Solar-powered Trailer Life
Joined
Nov 16, 2019
Messages
1,228
I can't imagine having a GX or RPi being powered via the inverter but I guess someone must be doing it if it asks to confirm that fact a few times.
 

jwelter99

Solar Addict
Joined
Dec 6, 2020
Messages
552
I can't imagine having a GX or RPi being powered via the inverter but I guess someone must be doing it if it asks to confirm that fact a few times.

Yes, I guess the only possibility is if you are running a rPI off an AC brick that is being supplied by the Multiplus. But in all the installs I've done if they have a rPI we use a little 5V buck convertor to power it right from whatever the DC side is.
 
Top