diy solar

diy solar

Adding solar panel

DipstickDash

Hey all,

I'm pretty new to the solar scene.

I live in England. I'm repairing & converting what was a rusty old big van into a camper. In the meantime I'm learning as much as I can about solar power and systems. I'm using my shed until the van is ready.

I built a 12v 280AH battery pack using EVE cells from Shenzhen Basen on Alibaba. I'm satisfied with the cells and supplier. I installed a 120A BMS that goes by many names, I ordered from QUCC on AliExpress.

The MPPT I am using is EPEVER Tracer 4210AN, I purchased on Amazon.

I purchased a solar panel from Ebay (340W JA Solar). I checked the panels voltage, then I installed it to the MPPT, then the battery, using 4mm cable (which I think in US is 10 AWG)

It worked okay... I think.

I mean it's winter, the weather here has been abysmal. Wet and overcast for as long as I can remember. When the sun pokes and peaks through the clouds and makes an appearance the current goes up to around 3-4A. Which I think is fairly low for the panel size & Imp of 9.79A. Could it be down to poor positioning / location of the panel? Please advise and let me know if there's anything else that could be lowering current and how I can improve it.

I haven't added any fuses yet, I only had one panel and the Isc was almost half of the maximum fuse rating of 20A however...

I've purchased another solar panel from EBay. I plan to connect the panels in parallel. They're similar specs to each other, not quite the same. I think they're close enough so as not to cause a big issue but I could be wrong. Please correct and advise me if I am.

The new panel is a 335W. The deviation / difference between the panels is: 5W, 0.12Isc, 1.1Voc, 0.72Vmp, 0.06Imp.