diy solar

diy solar

Advice for home wind turbine set up

Russs34

Hi , I’m new to all this I’m afraid ! I’m a qualified electrician looking to create a wind turbine set up , I live at the top of a very exposed hill in Teignmouth Devon , we seem to constantly have some kind of wind ! I’m trying to find some information about setting something up please , I’d like to store the power created, i’ve read forklift batteries are the best for this ! Many thanks Russ

Hello Russ and welcome.

If you want to make energy then solar is a much better place to start.

Those of us with actual experience in small wind will tell you that pretty much everyone ends up giving up on their wind turbine after a lot of aggravation and expense.

Or if you want to build your own turbine then check out Hugh Piggott's blog. It's proven to work but again you'll likely still be far better off with solar.

Good Luck!

Last edited:
Hello Russ and welcome.

If you want to make energy then solar is a much better place to start.

Those of us with actual experience in small wind will tell you that that pretty much everyone ends up giving up on their wind turbine after a lot of aggravation and expense.

Or if you want to build your own turbine then check out Hugh Piggott's blog. It's proven to work but again you'll likely still be far better off with solar.

Good Luck!
That’s really interesting thanks , I’ve looked into solar but I was thinking it was going to be quite costly?

That’s really interesting thanks , I’ve looked into solar but I was thinking it was going to be quite costly?
That's a common misconception but 99.99% of people will get far more energy out of solar than wind for the same money.

The other common misconception is thinking you're that .01%.

What turbines are you looking at? Do they have a power curve? Do they publish an AEO (annual energy output)?

That's a common misconception but 99.99% of people will get far more energy out of solar than wind for the same money.