diy solar

diy solar

Advice Needed Please for UK DIY Solar installation (Complete Beginner)

lisam

Advice Needed Please for UK DIY Solar installation (Complete Beginner)

Very good day to you all!?️
Your expertise, knowledge and advice much needed please. I am totally new so lots of very basic, verging on silly, questions.
We will be renovating our house in full, full electricity rewiring, new boiler... the lot and building an outbuilding. I would like the main house and the outbuilding to draw less power off the grid and... maybe pay less for energy. Considering DIY solar panels on the outbuilding sloping roof (roof size approximately 10mx5m), basic map attached. My husband is more than an 'advanced' DIYer (too expensive to get a solar installer only for a certificate and sale back to the grid). We are in Kent, the outbuilding will be at the back of the garden about 20-22 meters away from the house. We use approximately 3,500-4000 kWh/year, use some energy during the day, heating and power in the late afternoon & evening.
-The roof area is not completely rectangle, see attached picture, but roughly 10mx5m roof with solar panels, how much energy does it actually produce say in winter. Erm.. enough for heating with combi boiler? We are happy to spend on something that is good quality and will last the test of time.

What do we need:
- Is there a specific cable to transport power from solar panels on the outbuilding to the main house?
- What will we need to connect to effectively connect it to the house power system (sorry stupid question)?
- What's the best solar panels, controller, inverter (or is there a system or brand you need to stick to) in our situation? What are the components we need to buy (panels, controller, inverter?)