diy solar

diy solar

Advice on battery configuration

JanC

Hi, I'm just planning my small off-grid system, and I can't decide about my battery configuration. I want to also check, if I took everything into account because I'm a beginner in this.

So I'm going with lithium for sure, and I need about 2400Wh of capacity. At first I wanted to buy 2x 12v 100ah batteries, but I found some good deals on bigger batteries, and I see only disadvantages with buying 2 batteries instead of just one large battery. At least for my situation. So I want to be sure that I didn't miss something.

I'm building something like a tiny home, so it's not gonna be mobile and therefore weight is not an issue for me. It will stay in one place forever hopefully. So with two batteries, I can only see more cables, more losses and more things to go wrong. Also series vs parallel is another decision I wouldn't be sure about. I heard Will say, that batteries like to be in series, and if they are in parallel they wear out quicker, or something like that. And it's not easy to find batteries, that are cheap enough, and can be connected in series. Some people say parallel is better, so I don't know. Having only one large battery would solve this problem for good.

The only problem I found with buying one battery is the maximum discharge rate. If I understand it correctly, when there are 2 batteries connected, their discharge rate doubles. The 12v 200ah battery I have in mind has a maximum continuous discharge at 150a, so that's about 1800w right? It has also a surge discharge somewhere over 400a, so that's more than enough, but I'm planning to buy a 2000w inverter to power a fridge, and I don't know if that continuous discharge rate is enough. It's not that big of a difference, so if the battery has protection, it's just limiting the inverters potential right?