diy solar

diy solar

Advice on setup

Death_Dealer79

I currently have 4 335 watt panels, and a EMC² standby power supply. I have a Missouri Winds 24v controller but have decided to go with a MPP or 2. The end goal is to run what I have in my RV completely off of solar and eventually a portable windmill. I have regular sized stackable washer and dryer, a full size refrigerator, electric stove,TV, microwave, and lights. Ac, furnace,water heater. What do you think I will need to output to achieve freedom? I know I need batteries and not sure if this backup will even work with this. Please advise ? I am fully novice here.

Attachments

• 20210930_134835.jpg
    20210930_134835.jpg
    180.4 KB · Views: 2
Look up the info on here regarding “power audit” and do that, come back and share

I’m usually fairly comfortable making wildhat guesses but like to see that followed with math and science; I’m not comfortable guessing here- because for sure ~1350W of panel ain’t gonna do it. You essentially have everything an average house would have with unknown usage data.

I’m certainly no guru or authority on this stuff but I do think that, often, (informed) wild guessing stimulates useful thought and discussion to actually come up with a scientific useful answer. In your case the potential demands are so high that any “guess” would be totally making stuff up and not formulating an educated guess.

I have 4 x 300w panels on my cargo trailer -> camper conversion mounted flat (not optimal). The panels produce around 6kwh/day in summer. If you do something to let them tilt to sun - you might get that up to 8kwh/day in summer. Winter is 25% of summer where I live - e.g. 1.5kwh-2kwh/day.

Battery wise you'll need at least 6kwh/day for 24hrs of operation (thru the night of steady power) in summer.

The 9000BUT mini-split uses about 5kwh/day to cool up to 100F and heat down to 32F.