diy solar

diy solar

*Advice please* , can I improve this with proper leads. *Advice needed*

atvuornf

I do need advice, I'm a complete novice.

I have the Poweroak/Bluetti EB1500, I wanted to charge it whilst on the move, I bought the DC050S which isn't available in the UK, so got it from Germany. I tried it quickly, it does work?

It charges at 100w and 120w with engine running, the cigarette lighter plug gets warm on the end, would you advise that I make some leads and connect it directly to my battery with 6mm eyelets,

Also any tips on making up XT90 leads, I bought these.

plugs.JPGdc505s.2JPG.JPG

Last edited:
Not saying this is best or just another way, but I typically like to use Anderson connectors for making DC connections. They come with various different sizes to support whatever amp load you might need.

Latest ones I just put on my truck to connect a set of 25 ft long jumper cables, and for connecting an external 1000w inverter (they sell much smaller amp-rated ones too, these are 175a, big)...

1639943753181.jpeg

1639943777765.jpeg

Thanks, I think I'll have to stick with XT90 as that's what the (DC) unit accepts.

I do need advice, I'm a complete novice.

I have the Poweroak/Bluetti EB1500, I wanted to charge it whilst on the move, I bought the DC050S which isn't available in the UK, so got it from Germany. I tried it quickly, it does work?

It charges at 100w and 120w with engine running, the cigarette lighter plug gets warm on the end, would you advise that I make some leads and connect it directly to my battery with 6mm eyelets,

Also any tips on making up XT90 leads, I bought these.

View attachment 75964View attachment 75965
Generally speaking a lighter/power port are good for ten amps. XT 90 will work but be mindful of the voltage drop on the wire size to the battery.

Thanks, I think I'll have to stick with XT90 as that's what the (DC) unit accepts.