diy solar

diy solar

AGM battery type setting

chriscam2

I'm totally new to this but very excited to learn. I have been searching all over and just find conflicting information. That probably because I am so new and I am not even searching the right thing. I got 2 Weize 12V 100AH Deep Cycle AGM SLA VRLA Batteries and I am going to hook them up to a Renogy Rover 40 Amp 12V/24V DC Input MPPT Solar Charge Controller. I am reading the manual and not sure if I should set the battery type as gel, sealed, or flood. I'm am thinking sealed is the correct type. But have read gel and also read sealed. Since I'm so new to this I want to make sure before I hook it up I don't cook my new batteries or do any damage.

What also confusing is the battery manual lists information about charging in v/cells. How many cells are this AGM battery. I didn't think they had cells?

I'm am thinking sealed is the correct type. But have read gel and also read sealed.
With AGM you dont usually need or use an equalization stage. The GEL default setting has no equalization so would be suitable. However the boost volts at 14.2 may be a little low as 14.4 to 15 volts is recommended for your battery, The sealed default setting is 14.4 and the flooded 14.6, these may be more suitable voltages, but have the disadvantage of the equalization mode.
Its possible to use the 'user mode' to set up your own settings.

I suggest you use the GEL settings, and if possible with the user mode, alter the boost voltage to 14.6 or 14.7 volts. Most AGM perform better at higher voltages.

also confusing is the battery manual lists information about charging in v/cells
You 12v AGM batteries are made up from 6 cells in series, typically a full cell it would read just over 2.1 volts. When charging, the cells are charged up to a voltage of around 2.40 volts.

Mike

Cool - got yourself a neat little learner-bank.

There are SIX, 2v cells wired in series to produce the nominal 12v.