AiLi Battery Shunt

navillus

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2021
Messages
55
My AiLi battery shunt works great, until, I turn on my inverter. When I switch on my inverter, the shunt will measure the power usage, however, it deletes the battery power % and Amp hrs information. Has anyone else had this issue? More importantly is there a fix? Thanks
 

Bob B

Photon Sorcerer
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
3,809
Never seen a problem like that with mine .... So, when the problem happens ... if you press the amps button it doesn't toggle between amp and amp hours?
 

navillus

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2021
Messages
55
Never seen a problem like that with mine .... So, when the problem happens ... if you press the amps button it doesn't toggle between amp and amp hours?
It reads zero, for amps and battery %
 

Bob B

Photon Sorcerer
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
3,809
I got nothing ..... maybe someone else will have ideas.

Oh .... does it matter if there is a load on the inverter ... or just that you turn it on?
 

RCinFLA

Photon Sorcerer
Joined
Jun 21, 2020
Messages
1,154
My AiLi battery shunt works great, until, I turn on my inverter. When I switch on my inverter, the shunt will measure the power usage, however, it deletes the battery power % and Amp hrs information. Has anyone else had this issue? More importantly is there a fix? Thanks
It almost sound like a battery 'full' reset trigger. Is it possible the inverter charger comes on and immediately takes battery voltage above what is set for 'full' reset on monitor.
 

navillus

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2021
Messages
55
It almost sound like a battery 'full' reset trigger. Is it possible the inverter charger comes on and immediately takes battery voltage above what is set for 'full' reset on monitor.
Not sure what the full reset amount is, and how one would reset that to a higher figure?
 

mikefitz

Solar Addict
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
893
. When I switch on my inverter, the shunt will measure the power usage, however, it deletes the battery power % and Amp hrs information.
Sounds like interference created in the inverter either being radiated or traveling back up the cables to the AiLi electronics.
The light gauge wire feeding power to the shunt and the connection cable to the display may be picking up interference.
Move these as far from the inverter as practical, add clip on ferrite cored to the cables, ensure the inverter casing is connected to battery negative and vehicle metal if its a mobile application.

Mike
 

navillus

New Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2021
Messages
55
Sounds like interference created in the inverter either being radiated or traveling back up the cables to the AiLi electronics.
The light gauge wire feeding power to the shunt and the connection cable to the display may be picking up interference.
Move these as far from the inverter as practical, add clip on ferrite cored to the cables, ensure the inverter casing is connected to battery negative and vehicle metal if its a mobile application.

Mike
OK, that's good information, let me look at cable proximity. Thanks.
 

svGina

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2021
Messages
1
On my sailboat i use two batteries, both 12V lifepo4, one i use for my 12v boating appliances and the second i will use on a inverter for 220V appliances (yes I'm in EU) , the charging happens by shore power, solar and a windmill
Am expecting Ailli to arrive and want to connect it in such way i can monitor both batteries... B+ B+ as auxiliary??? Looks same build like the Victron shunt...

IS IT POSSIBLE? ???

I did some research and found some examples of Victron shunts does Aili supports same connection?

Thanks in advance and Kind regard from Canary Islands
 

Attachments

  • 1491-screenshot-2019-02-28-09-55-06-1.png
    1491-screenshot-2019-02-28-09-55-06-1.png
    233.8 KB · Views: 6
  • 12390-bmv-parallel.png
    12390-bmv-parallel.png
    67.9 KB · Views: 6
  • 12407-monitor-battery.jpg
    12407-monitor-battery.jpg
    76.9 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:

STW

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2021
Messages
36
You have to setup the AiLi for your Battery size and the 100% level. This is easiest to do when you have a 100% charged battery, but can actually be done at any time.

The center button toggles between ah and amps. Go to the ah and hold the center button for 3 seconds. A value will display and you can use the left and right buttons to increase/decrease the value unit it reads how many ah you battery is (ex 210ah for a pair of 6v lead acid). Hit the center button to save value.

Next hit the far right button and a percentage will show. Hold button for 3 seconds and it will reset it to 100%. Don’t worry if your battery is not 100% charged. Once you charge it up it will be correct as the value will not go over 100%.

One recommendation I have if you are using Lead Acid batteries is to set the ah for 1/2 of what your batteries have. This will reflect the amount of useable power you have. So when percentage or battery graph says battery is empty it reflect what a safe level of discharge is.

I have the 350 amp shunt and recommend it highly over the 100 amp shunt. It is easier to mount cables to and the monitor cable is a lot longer. Spend a couple $$$ more (like 5 dollars) and get the larger shunt.
 
Top