All-in-one + DC to DC charger (isolator) OR inverter/charger + mppt/DC to DC charger

dudedogvan

Solar Enthusiast
Absolute newb here. I'm planning to install a 12v system in my van for full time living. I'm planning to use: DIY 280ah LiFEPO4 battery w/JBD BMS and 400w solar array. I would like some advice on the other components in the system. I don't think I need an inverter larger than 1000w because I just need to run a laptop.

I think it would be best for the system to be versatile in the ways I can charge the battery so I think DC in (solar), AC in (extension cord from someone's house when available), and DC in (alternator) would all be nice to have. No need for shore power with a mounted plug, I just want to have a 110v male plug I can run an extension cord to from someone's house to charge the batteries with AC.

So, from what I gather, I have 2 options: get an all-in-one MPP PIP-1012LV and add in the DC to DC charger (victron, or renogy) OR get an inverter/charger combo for AC in/out and a mppt/DC to DC combo for DC solar in and DC alternator in.

I like the idea of just buying an MPP all-in-one and adding a DC to DC charger because it seems to be more compact, simpler, and easier to wire.
Does anyone have some advice on one over the other? I think it's a great idea for versatility, but is it overkill/do I need all these options? Are there special considerations I need to make about wiring or anything else that I may be missing? Please provide any advice you feel is pertinent!

jbird526

Solar Enthusiast
If running DC to DC charger, you need to decide how many amps. What vehicle are you building and more specifically do you know the output of your alternator? You may be limited to a single Victron Orion 18amp or able to run (2) 30amp components.