diy solar

diy solar

All in one vs separate inverter/charger for first system?

Bremraf

So what is the general consensus on an all in one inverter/charger vs separating the two pieces of equipment? I'm look at adding a small solar backup, 5-6kw worth of battery and 1400w worth of panels, would I be best off buying going with something from MPP or buying pieces individually and building from there? I am new to solar but have been in the electrical and utility fields for about 10 years now. Thanks!

Wiring cost and connections are more with discrete units. I have done both. If AC charging is planned, for sure AIO is the way to go....unless you get an inverter/charger like AIMs has. Mounting clutter is also something to consider. Of course, fixing failed components, or altering your end game plan is easier with discrete units.

If you make your plan to not just have backup but to use available solar to power daily critical loads, look at the AIO units that don't require a battery. They handle usage of available solar differently than those that do require a battery. Those without a battery converter PV to the high voltage DC to power the inverter's current load while those that do require a battery tend to power the inverter's high voltage from the low voltage DC side, which causes all available solar to be routed through the battery charger, down to battery voltage, then backup to high voltage DC for the inverter. Those sort of suck in a way because charger logic governs inverter usage of available solar.

Well, sorry to be the one to say it, but "It Depends" is the general consensus.

If you're tinkering because you have stuff and want to Learn All The Things then a multi-component system is the way to go, especially as you grow and start tweaking your system to see what it can do.

On the other hand, if you just want to slap something together and have something that works that you never want to change an AIO is the cheaper way to go.