diy solar

diy solar

An interesting idea for off grid heat

If someone is looking for a simpler option I've been using a Kitchen Queen wood stove for over 10 years now for 100% of my heat (and cooking in winter) in a poorly insulated farm house.

Wood stoves are awesome for quick heat. I too used one for years in a stone walled farm house. These are meant to be fired hot and hard (1200*F) twice a day. The thermal mass soaks up the heat and releases it back into the house for 12-18 hours. It is a much smoother heat.
They are also much more efficient than a traditional stove, using roughly 1/3 the fuel. They also require their own foundation. Nor for everyone, but definitely interesting.

Interesting idea for off grid heat.

Do some research on “Masonry heater.”
Good old European Stove concept. Very popular in the Alpine regions for few hundred years now

Mass and more Mass. Google "kachelofen"

The Chimney pipe in Europe is usually also made out of Masonry, and not covered in the 2nd floor and protrudes in 3-4 rooms - so both floors are heated with one oven heater. The heater is in the middle of the house. Never at an exterior wall.

I use the little trick in my signature on top of the wood stove. Simple, inexpensive and effective.
Just an old pressure cooker, some copper tubes (easy to solder) and a radiator.
You can have multiple radiators, obviously.

These are used in Northern Europe and Russia to this day to effectively heat a house. This is a modern version currently keeping my off-grid place nice and warm while it's -16C outside:

4u7n6vkzg1z71.jpg

It stores 60kWh of energy and is made from soapstone. Total mass about 2100kg.

These are used in Northern Europe and Russia to this day to effectively heat a house. This is a modern version currently keeping my off-grid place nice and warm while it's -16C outside:

View attachment 76480

It stores 60kWh of energy and is made from soapstone. Total mass about 2100kg.