diy solar

diy solar

ANL fuse vs Circuit Breaker

JimF

Hello all,

Newbie here. I am connecting a BattleBorn 100A battery to serve as backup for twp Pieces of medical equipmen. I also want to have the capability to use a 1000 watt pure sine wave inverter. I was going to put in a 100 amp breaker, or 100 amp ANL fuse along with battery shutoff. This will feed to a distribution block where I’ll connect the charger and MPPT controller, each with their own breaker.

Question is: The BattleBorn manual says to use an ANL fuse, yet I have ready many places that a circuit breaker would be better and the breaker could do double duty as a shut off switch to disable all battery power if needed (only after first turning off solar and AC chargers first). Is there a valid argument for ANL fuse vs Circuit Breaker? Or will either one work OK?

Safety is highest priority.

Thanks, JimF

I would go with the ANL and skip the switch. I go years without disconnecting the battery and simply unbolt one of the cables if needed.
Switch mostly just adds resistance and another fail point. JMHO

The bigger consideration is the AIC rating of the OCP (over-current protection). LFP batteries can deliver massive current that can overwhelm the fuse/breaker and prevent them from protecting the circuit.

In most cases, Class T fuses, which have an AIC rating of 20,000A, are used for LFP.

BB may recommend ANL because they have computed the max amps based on non-public information. A breaker may be fine, but it needs to have the same AIC rating of an ANL fuse.

I would go with the ANL and skip the switch. I go years without disconnecting the battery and simply unbolt one of the cables if needed.
Switch mostly just adds resistance and another fail point. JMHO