diy solar

diy solar

Another beginner build - 12v RV off grid planning questions

lectric74

Hello everyone,

I'm new to doing this type of thing, but have run a simple 50 watt panel through a Harbor Freight controller, not that it matters in this design.

I have 2 projects coming up I'm trying to plan for, and I'd like to discuss the first and see if there's anything I'm not thinking of as I have a few months ahead to buy the parts and pieces needed for this build.

This project is personal and is for an off grid location that my dad's family has in a trust and I've camped at for years. I currently have a 91 Wilderness trailer (planning to upgrade next year), and it stays up there for months during the spring, summer and early fall. This year has been the first that my dad hasn't been up, and he has no plans to come back up. I've taken over his RV pad, and he's asked me to pour a pad for a propane tank he bought, so I plan to include a tower for solar. My plan is to eliminate the need for my 3650 watt gas generator, as well as reduce the propane use for the refrigerator. The trailer uses a 120 v 30 amp feed, so my calculations are based on that. I tried to be pretty conservative in my estimates, and ensure a good overhead to prevent ever firing up a generator (might be a bit wishful, but I plan to downsize the generator to a Honda 2000w inverter to charge batteries in dark times). Eventually I want to also add an irrigation pump to run a few heads around the property to help with fire prevention. I'm not going into brands at this time, just keeping it generic as I plan this out. As I start to buy I will come here for reviews and recommendations on specific brands of things. The listed specs are an idea of what I plan, not final part plans.

Currently I have planned:

4 240 watt mono panels
5 12v 200 aH batteries
8000 watt inverter
60 amp charge controller
6/3 wire
12/2 romex
Main battery disconnect switch
6 spot IP 65 breaker box
32 amp ground fault breaker