diy solar

diy solar

Anyone care to check my math before I pull the trigger?

308andyj

I am about to purchase 16 Lishen 272ah cells (3.2V each).

I want a 24v system so I plan to do a 2P8S battery bank. I will be getting a Growatt 24v SPF 3000TL all-in-one unit.

The battery bank will be 544 ah (13 kwh) once assembled.

I have 10 cheap panels which have been collecting dust for years, They're 12v 100w for a total of 500w at 24v.

My area gets right at 5 hours of "sun hours" daily average throughout the year. My 500w of panels will yield 2.5kwh @ 24v (104ah) daily if the 5 hours average holds true.

If I were to ever discharge the bank to 20% I would have 435ah to replenish to get back to 100% (Which on LiFePo4 is not good anyway) which would take just over 4 days of good sun.

I'm almost embarrassed to admit, I'm an electrician by trade, but some of this is all new to me. No one ever asked for my knowledge of theory to determine if I was fit to run conduit and pull wire, haha. I would appreciate anyone who can verify my math looks ball park correct, or if I am missing any gross details.

Thank you all!

Most opt for 2X 8S batteries in parallel each with their own BMS vs. 2P8S. This allows for easy redundancy if you have a cell go out. If you have a parallel cell go out, it will take down its cell-mate(s), and you have to reconfigure the whole bank to find the problem.

BMS?

10X 100W panels are still 1000W even at 24V. Power is constant. Voltage is doubled, current is halved.

You have 1000W of solar. Since you're using MPPT, you'll probably want to go 5S2P to bump your voltage up. Assuming your 5S Voc is less than 145V.

Most opt for 2X 8S batteries in parallel each with their own BMS vs. 2P8S. This allows for easy redundancy if you have a cell go out. If you have a parallel cell go out, it will take down its cell-mate(s), and you have to reconfigure the whole bank to find the problem.

BMS?