Anyone using Porsche Taycan modules?

curiouscarbon

Science Penguin
Joined
Jun 29, 2020
Messages
2,860
thank you for building and thank you for posting. wishing this project progress. wishing for peace to you and everyone around you.

if i run across any more info about taycan bms interface, will be sure to post it here.

☮️
 

avdept

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2022
Messages
51
thank you for building and thank you for posting. wishing this project progress. wishing for peace to you and everyone around you.

if i run across any more info about taycan bms interface, will be sure to post it here.

☮️
Big thanks for support. So far I noticed that inverter stops the charge reaching "charging voltage rate", so I set it to 25v(while module capable of having 25.2) for sake of safety. Will report in few week how it goes(unless I burn or die off shelling :p)
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
61
Location
lake county, california
I've read that the Taycan modules are electrically similar enough to the older Tesla Model S modules that they can use the same BMS.

EV battery modules mostly come in odd voltage combinations that aren't usually supported by home power equipment. Unfortunately you will also need an inverter whose low-voltage shutdown can be set to about 39 volts, to suit 2 of these modules in series. Most 48v inverters were intended to run on 16S LiFePO4 batteries, so their low-voltage shutdown is around 42 volts.

There are large and expensive BMSes intended for DIY electric vehicles running at 200 volts or more (Dilithium being the most popular). And there's the EMUS BMS, intended to work directly on a single Model S pack. You might ask EMUS if their BMS will work on a Taycan pack--I think chances are good.

 

avdept

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2022
Messages
51
Alright, so I've been using them for past few days at my condo. So far they working good, no issues noticed. However I found a way to connect BMS to cells directly. Basically you need to cut off rear part of module, right on seam, and it reveals access to PCB. Besides built-in balancer it exposes cell connections, so anyone can solder BMS with no problem. I've ordered few smart BMS from Ali, so it will take at least few weeks to deliver. Once its here I'll try to solder and see how it works.

As a safety measure I set 24.9V cut off on my inverter, so the charging not going past that voltage.
 

avdept

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2022
Messages
51
I've read that the Taycan modules are electrically similar enough to the older Tesla Model S modules that they can use the same BMS.

EV battery modules mostly come in odd voltage combinations that aren't usually supported by home power equipment. Unfortunately you will also need an inverter whose low-voltage shutdown can be set to about 39 volts, to suit 2 of these modules in series. Most 48v inverters were intended to run on 16S LiFePO4 batteries, so their low-voltage shutdown is around 42 volts.

There are large and expensive BMSes intended for DIY electric vehicles running at 200 volts or more (Dilithium being the most popular). And there's the EMUS BMS, intended to work directly on a single Model S pack. You might ask EMUS if their BMS will work on a Taycan pack--I think chances are good.

Hi thanks for that link, will check it out for sure. The main problem with taycan pack - they did not expose any cell traces outside of module, so you need physically cut off rear side to get access to cells. Once its done - it seems to be pretty easy to solder any consumer grade BMS
 

avdept

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2022
Messages
51
Ok, so a bit of update. I was able to cut in a small window to get access to PCB at the rear of module. I also found interesting doc showing correct pinout for each of module's cell. I measured it myself with multimeter and it seem to be correct. I've ordered ANT bms from ALI, since I aim to build 48v out of 2 modules, I'll use 1 bms for 2 modules(it allows 7-16s as per ordered BMS). Since the battery has built-in cell balancing, I'll need to disable balancing on BMS. Overall it looks promising.

PS Photo below isn my "window". I don't want to expose cells to outer world. So prefer to spend a bit more time, but get only pins exposed.
Screenshot 2022-12-12 at 12.29.12.png
 
Last edited:

avdept

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2022
Messages
51
So I managed to solder BMS to taycan modules. It seems to be working ok. Built in balancer also works well, I had only 0.005v diff across cells. Generally it's easier to cut off back part of case and then use glue or any other compound to put it back together. For now I used DalyBMS, but might eventually move to ANT if I decide to put 2 modules in series to get 48v
tempImageBWvpXn.pngtempImageLLFnxq.pngIMG_1190.PNGtempImageJexr4L.png
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2023
Messages
2
Location
Україна
Тобі також дякую!
Так мені вдалося припаяти BMS до модулів taycan. Здається, працює нормально. Вбудований балансир також добре працює, у мене було лише 0,005 В різниці між осередками. Як правило, легше відрізати задню частину корпусу, а потім за допомогою клею або будь-якої іншої суміші зібрати її назад. Наразі я використовував DalyBMS, але з часом можу перейти на ANT, якщо вирішите розписати 2 модулі вегетаріано, щоб отримати 48 В
View attachment 127469View attachment 127470View attachment 127471View attachment 127472
Доброго здоров'я, дуже цікаво як показує себе батарея в роботі зі встановленою БМС. Який час заряду та яка реальна ємність. Як розумію Ви використовуєте одразу дві. Також цікаво де в Україні ви її придбали за 150 дол. і чи є там ще)
 

avdept

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2022
Messages
51
Доброго здоров'я, дуже цікаво як показує себе батарея в роботі зі встановленою БМС. Який час заряду та яка реальна ємність. Як розумію Ви використовуєте одразу дві. Також цікаво де в Україні ви її придбали за 150 дол. і чи є там ще)
Доброго, та нормально, так як і до роботи без БМС. Час заряду залежить від вашого зарядного, у мене в інверторі до 80А, тому зарядку поставив на 40А(у мене зараз 2 послідовно для 48в) тому заряджає десь за годину-півтори те що я використав під час відключення. Так використовую 2 послідовно. Нажаль по 150 вже немає, це вдалось купити до того коли всі стали скуповувати їх.


Hello. It works ok with bms, same as without. Charging depends on your charge. My inverter has charging up to 80A, so I have set it to 40A(I have 2 batteries connecter in series to get 48v), so it charges in 1-1.5 hours for the amount I used during blackout. Yes I use 2 batteries in series. Unfortunately there's no more for $150, I got them before everybody started to interest in them.
 

Makepeace

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2023
Messages
2
Location
Ukraine
А можете перевірити роботу вбудованого балансира, наприклад зарядити одну ячейку трохи більше, чи вирівняє ії балансир через деякий час?
 

Zaicev

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2023
Messages
3
Location
Ukraine
Доброго, та нормально, так як і до роботи без БМС. Час заряду залежить від вашого зарядного, у мене в інверторі до 80А, тому зарядку поставив на 40А(у мене зараз 2 послідовно для 48в) тому заряджає десь за годину-півтори те що я використав під час відключення. Так використовую 2 послідовно. Нажаль по 150 вже немає, це вдалось купити до того коли всі стали скуповувати їх.


Hello. It works ok with bms, same as without. Charging depends on your charge. My inverter has charging up to 80A, so I have set it to 40A(I have 2 batteries connecter in series to get 48v), so it charges in 1-1.5 hours for the amount I used during blackout. Yes I use 2 batteries in series. Unfortunately there's no more for $150, I got them before everybody started to interest in them.
Доброго дня. Я теж купив 3шт LG CHEM 9J1.915.591.G та 9J1.915.592.G. Підключив паралельно на 24в та до гібридного інвертора (встановив обмеження 21низ та 24.5верх). Пару днів працює, наче ок, але не можу зчитати дані щоб розуміти чи все в нормі. Враховуючи, що розташована система біля автомобіля в гаражі, то дуже страшно, якщо щось станеться з батареєю.
Вирішив теж придбати BMS Daly Li-ion, але не знаю чи можна 1ну бмс поставити на 3 акумулятори. Бачу ви взяли на 100А БМС, хоча всі радять брати з запасом на 200А.
Питання взяти БМС 1шт на 200А чи 3 по 100-120А?
Дякую за схему підключення!


Hello. I also bought 3 pcs LG CHEM 9J1.915.591.G and 9J1.915.592.G. Connected in parallel to 24v and to a hybrid inverter. For a couple of days it works as if it is ok, but I can't read the data to understand if everything is normal. Given that the system is located next to the car in the garage, it is very scary if something happens to the battery.

I also decided to buy a Daly Li-ion BMS, but I don't know if it is possible to put 1 BMS on 3 batteries. I see you took a BMS for 100A BMS, although everyone advises to take a 200A reserve.

The question is to take 1 BMS for 200A or 3 for 100-120A?

Thanks for the wiring diagram!
 

avdept

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2022
Messages
51
Доброго дня. Я теж купив 3шт LG CHEM 9J1.915.591.G та 9J1.915.592.G. Підключив паралельно на 24в та до гібридного інвертора (встановив обмеження 21низ та 24.5верх). Пару днів працює, наче ок, але не можу зчитати дані щоб розуміти чи все в нормі. Враховуючи, що розташована система біля автомобіля в гаражі, то дуже страшно, якщо щось станеться з батареєю.
Вирішив теж придбати BMS Daly Li-ion, але не знаю чи можна 1ну бмс поставити на 3 акумулятори. Бачу ви взяли на 100А БМС, хоча всі радять брати з запасом на 200А.
Питання взяти БМС 1шт на 200А чи 3 по 100-120А?
Дякую за схему підключення!


Hello. I also bought 3 pcs LG CHEM 9J1.915.591.G and 9J1.915.592.G. Connected in parallel to 24v and to a hybrid inverter. For a couple of days it works as if it is ok, but I can't read the data to understand if everything is normal. Given that the system is located next to the car in the garage, it is very scary if something happens to the battery.

I also decided to buy a Daly Li-ion BMS, but I don't know if it is possible to put 1 BMS on 3 batteries. I see you took a BMS for 100A BMS, although everyone advises to take a 200A reserve.

The question is to take 1 BMS for 200A or 3 for 100-120A?

Thanks for the wiring diagram!
Hello. You cannot install 1 BMS on multiple parallel wired batteries. Each battery needs its own BMS. As for BMS amps - it's better to have a bit more powerful than your battery. I didn't have issues with 100A bms, but BMS wires were a bit warmer than everything else. SO 3x150A BMS should be fine
 

SIrGrey

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2023
Messages
2
Location
Kyiv
Hello. You cannot install 1 BMS on multiple parallel wired batteries. Each battery needs its own BMS. As for BMS amps - it's better to have a bit more powerful than your battery. I didn't have issues with 100A bms, but BMS wires were a bit warmer than everything else. SO 3x150A BMS should be fine
If you have two or more similar batteries connected in parallel, each equipped with its own balancer, you really cannot protect the entire assembly with a single BMS? Why not? The only downside I see is that this BMS will monitor the individual cells of only the one battery to which it's connected. But it should protect all the batteries from overcurrent and over/undervoltage.
 

Zaicev

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2023
Messages
3
Location
Ukraine
If you have two or more similar batteries connected in parallel, each equipped with its own balancer, you really cannot protect the entire assembly with a single BMS? Why not? The only downside I see is that this BMS will monitor the individual cells of only the one battery to which it's connected. But it should protect all the batteries from overcurrent and over/undervoltage.
Thanks. Some sellers advise connecting one BMS, well, I understand that if one BMS is in parallel, I will not be able to control the cells from overcharging. I'm still testing the work of the built-in balancer, while I see deviations of about 0.1V in three out of six cells.
 

Makepeace

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2023
Messages
2
Location
Ukraine
Thanks. Some sellers advise connecting one BMS, well, I understand that if one BMS is in parallel, I will not be able to control the cells from overcharging. I'm still testing the work of the built-in balancer, while I see deviations of about 0.1V in three out of six cells.
So, can we say that the built-in balancer does not work?
 

TomC4306

Solar Obsessive
Joined
Mar 2, 2021
Messages
807
Location
Maryland, USA
So, can we say that the built-in balancer does not work?
No.
Built in balancers have to be given a decently balanced battery to MAINTAIN.
0.1 volts deviation is just a ridiculous place to start and expect a balancer to fix.
The constructor should do the initial balance to a much tighter specification than 0.1 volts.
 

Zaicev

New Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2023
Messages
3
Location
Ukraine
Итак, можно ли сказать, что встроенный балансировщик не работает?
While I see no problems, it balances, well, sometimes I fix a deviation between 0.1-0.07v packets.
I advise you to unpack the battery if you buy not a new one. I have one battery had oxidized contacts of one package. A little more and he would have fallen off.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20230128_192857.jpg
    IMG_20230128_192857.jpg
    415.8 KB · Views: 8
Last edited:
Top