diy solar

diy solar

Anyone working with the Overkill Solar Arduino lib?

jbatx

I make stuff with things
I'm really interested in getting my system online for remote monitoring, at least. However, I have zero experience with Arduino and embedded but tons of experience as a developer at higher levels. Has anyone here successfully set up remote monitoring for their Overkill BMS(s) using the Arduino lib or otherwise?

Thanks,
JB

I emailed chatted with overkill today. Seems pretty simple to create a read-only setup going through some aws tools like sqs, s3, rds and quicksite.

Is anyone interested in something like this?

I am intrested as I have the same controller as the overkill and want to do monitoring locally. I do have the bluetooth dongle as well as the RS-485 adapter.
, but I have no experience programming arduinos or other single board computers of that type of design. I do local monotoring of my other equipment using single board real time computers.

I picked up a couple esp32 modules yesterday instead of the avr based arduinos. These are supported by the Arduino ide and ought to work with the lib. They're more advanced than arduino and come with wifi and bt onboard, among other things. Someone has already used the overkill arduino lib with esp32 boards, which is great. The basic read-only architecture for this poc will look like this...

Bms---serial_com-->esp32-->tmobile_4&5g_hotspot--->mqtt--->postgres--->aws_quicksight_reporting.

Of course, it'd be simple to set up monitoring and alerting on top of the mqtt or postgres server. I'm just not going to make that part of the poc.