diy solar

diy solar

Backpacking 12v system and park bench 12v solar panels?

Jysttic

I am a ham radio operator and I am looking for help find solar panels for two highly mobile setups. Ham radios operate on 12V. I already have a portable RF silent solar charge controller that handles all my batteries.

1. Backpacking. I carry one of two 12v bioenno LiFe batteries depending on the power draw of the radio I'm using. One is a 6ah, the other is a 15ah. I'm hoping to find a rollable or compact foldable that could be easily hung from a pack during the day, while hiking, to charge the batteries. Is there something like that that exists for the 12v ah i'm looking for? Preferably under $150 (I found the $1000 solar film ones, waaaaay out of my price range.)

2. Another radio kit I'm trying to setup is more of a park bench/car camping setup. I have a larger radio in an apache 5800 case (harbor freight pelican) with a 12v 70ah sealed lead acid battery array. I'm hoping to also find a foldable/rollable solar panel for this setup as well. Something I can either strap to the top of the case for transport and then setup next to me . If I really just need to bite the bullet and get a solar suitcase setup then let me know (which is probably the case.) What setup for the battery would you recommend, or would it be cheaper/more convenient to put a piano hinge and two latches on two solar panels?

Thanks everyone!

1) Unless your rig is a qrp tuna-tin, getting any sort of decent solar charge while wearing a panel on your back is totally ridiculous. More of a fashion-statement than anything having to do with solar charging. Promoted by marketers that have no clue what they are doing - or actually they do, but they are targeting an ignorant market.

2) Get anything you want. Folding / rolling / rigid suitcase. Trying to keep a 70ah agm alive will be tough, so I'd shoot for 300 watts of panel power. And good solar-insolation. And not drawing a radio load during the day.