diy solar

diy solar

Battery for canoe/kayak applications where weatherproof AND low temp charging cutoff is available. Used for 12V 50lb Trolling Motor

bralee886

There doesn't seem to be both of weatherproof AND low temp charging cutoff combinations out there.. I know the 100ah SOK battery is solid for just about everything besides being weatherproof.. I am a newbie/beginner with LiFePO4 batteries as well as most of what is discussed on this forum, but I am learning.

Application example:
  • 13' Flat-back canoe with a 12V 50lb thrust MinnKota Endura Max Trolling Motor
  • Currently running an Everstart 29DC Lead Acid (EverStart Maxx Marine Battery, Group Size 29DC) which is heavier than hell (~60lbs) and ideally I'd like to have the battery tilted on it's side depending on how much gear is in the canoe.
    • Shooting for a battery less than 30lbs
  • Live in Wisconsin, so low temperature cutoff is important, but not a deal breaker as I will be using this battery mainly Spring-Fall.
    • As long as I don't charge the Ampere Time below 32F, I can still use and discharge it below that if the temps were that low?
Currently looking at the 100ah Ampere Time or CHINS for cost(~$300+). Don't really want to spend the money on a BB 100ah for $800.

Rebel Batteries or AOLithium have also peaked my interest

• Currently running an Everstart 29DC Lead Acid (EverStart Maxx Marine Battery, Group Size 29DC) which is heavier than hell (~60lbs) and ideally I'd like to have the battery tilted on it's side depending on how much gear is in the canoe.

This claims a 60A max draw, so make sure any battery you select can handle that.

• As long as I don't charge the Ampere Time below 32F, I can still use and discharge it below that if the temps were that low?

Most permit discharge down to -20°C

This claims a 60A max draw, so make sure any battery you select can handle that.

Most permit discharge down to -20°C