diy solar

diy solar

Battery for canoe/kayak applications where weatherproof AND low temp charging cutoff is available. Used for 12V 50lb Trolling Motor

bralee886

Reposting this to the marine section as well. I think there are a lot of fishing people out there that use AGM/Lead Acid deep cycle batteries that would benefit from this conversation. I just don't know how many fisherpeople are venturing to LiFePO4 batteries yet.. but for my application in a canoe it seems like a game changer

There doesn't seem to be both of weatherproof AND low temp charging cutoff combinations out there.. I know the 100ah SOK battery is solid for just about everything besides being weatherproof.. I am a newbie/beginner with LiFePO4 batteries as well as most of what is discussed on this forum, but I am learning.

Application example:
  • 13' Flat-back canoe with a 12V 50lb thrust MinnKota Endura Max Trolling Motor (Canoe has 700lb weight capacity)
  • Currently running an Everstart 29DC Lead Acid (EverStart Maxx Marine Battery, Group Size 29DC) which is heavier than hell (~60lbs) and ideally I'd like to have the battery tilted on it's side depending on how much gear is in the canoe.
    • Shooting for a battery less than 30lbs
  • Live in Wisconsin, so low temperature cutoff is important, but not a deal breaker as I will be using this battery mainly Spring-Fall.
    • As long as I don't charge the Ampere Time below 32F, I can still use and discharge it below that if the temps were that low?
Currently looking at the 100ah Ampere Time or CHINS for cost(~$300+). Don't really want to spend the money on a BB 100ah for $800.

Rebel Batteries or AOLithium have also peaked my interest. DIY batteries scare me a bit as I am not that confident building batteries.

Any other avenues/batteries suggested?

I have a very similar set up and have the same challenges. Did you decide on a battery?
Yes I did. I ended up going with the 100ah smart CHINS battery.