diy solar

diy solar

Battery Monitor

Heymirth

I am new to solar and created a small system for a off grid Shed. I added a battery monitor to measure everything. I wired it in and everything seems correct per Wills Videos but my monitor must be incorrect since I am not getting all the reading. Wiring the battery monitor into the shunt and to the fuse block is confusing and the sticker on my monitor is upside down- so it was confusing to me.
please keep your answers as BASIC as possible. I’m not very smart.

Can anyone help me understand why. I will post which one I bought and how it is wired.

Attachments

• FA3D15FF-FD89-4CAB-B772-FC97260FB1E9.jpg
    FA3D15FF-FD89-4CAB-B772-FC97260FB1E9.jpg
    18.6 KB · Views: 15
  • 08400EDC-7046-44B3-B547-63DC8BFA5EB0.jpeg
    08400EDC-7046-44B3-B547-63DC8BFA5EB0.jpeg
    346.9 KB · Views: 13
  • 4D770FB2-BC0B-43B1-B203-B4C720F50CB5.jpeg
    4D770FB2-BC0B-43B1-B203-B4C720F50CB5.jpeg
    44.6 KB · Views: 16
please keep your answers as BASIC as possible. I’m not very smart.
That makes two of us, however after a long working life in electrical stuff and reading lots I have picked up a hints.

The device you have uses a shunt to measure current, as current flows through the shunt a small voltage is developed that the unit uses to calculate amps and power.
This shunt needs to be fitted between the battery negative and every other negative connection in the system. The unit however is not bi directional and will only measure current, and thus power, flowing in one direction. So it could measure amps and power into the battery or out from the battery.
Fitting a unit like the AiLi would overcome this limitation.

The shunt used for this unit, use the 350A shunt, is termed 'sampler' in the diagram. A good description of the shunt because it takes samples on the current and voltage, carries out some computing and puts the results on the display.

AiLi Monitor.jpg
Mike

Last edited: