diy solar

diy solar

Battery Questions/Suggestions for off-grid home

Shawn Hayes

Learning Everyday
I'm fairly new to solar but have some knowledge. I'm very new to this site. Been reading and searching but so far I can't find enough here to answer my situation. I've used online battery calculators but want the real world opinions/experience from the folks here.
My system has 16,380 watts of solar (51-330w Q cell), two Sol-Ark 12-K (48v) inverters. Yes, I've joined this site to read and learn more due to the complexity of my system. Got my system installed by a professional but want to learn more, be hands on and more educated. I need to have enough battery back-up for approx. 2/3 cloudy/rainy days of power using approx. 32Kwh average usage per 24/hrs. (Location in the southeastern US)
At this time I'm looking for deep cycle FLA (Rolls or Trojan) not really looking at LiFePO4 at this time. 48V strings, so recommend AH per battery/string? Is it possible to have a battery string with the AH being to high (ex: using Rolls 2-YS-62P 2-V 5054 AH..I can't afford that btw) for my system? Any calculations that can be shared would be appreciated. I'm thinking of 2 series of batteries, equaling 48V each string, then paralleled together to increase AH. Please advise, thanks!

FLA has an optimum charge rate.
Does your Sol-Ark allow programming of a max charge rate? That's what I do with my Sunny Island, which has an undersized AGM bank.

If your FLA bank was so large that your PV couldn't hit the desired rate, there could be a negative effect on the battery.
Sounds like if you targeted 75% DoD after 3 days without sun, you'd have a 125 kWh bank and could only reach around 0.1C charge rate part of the day if you minimized loads. See what charge rate your prospective batteries want.

As an example, I'm looking at the Trojan SIND 6V 920ah @ 100h battery. Not sure how to find the optimum charge rate on the spec sheet, I've looked at it, but maybe I'm missing it?