diy solar

diy solar

Battleborn vs Alibaba?

MarinerBlue

Hello everyone,

Please forgive me if this is a newbie question, but... I'm new to this whole idea of repowering my sailboat with electric. I so far saw most people on youtube using Battleborn batteries. But a 100ah 12V LiFePO4 battery from Battleborn costs about $1000, while 280ah 3.2V LiFePO4 batteries on Alibaba cost about 1/10 of that.

Could someone help educate me as to why there is this huge price difference? Can I just hook up 4 of these alibaba batteries in serial and call it a 12v battery, now with 1120ah?

Battleborn battery link: https://battlebornbatteries.com/product/12v-lifepo4-deep-cycle-battery/
Alibaba link: 280ah LiFePO4

Thanks.

Last edited:
Couple of things.

The RAW cells in a serial configuration (4s. 3.2Vx4) will multiply the voltage to the same ~12V system but does not multiply the AH. You still have 280AH of storage. You also need to purchase a BMS, a battery box, cabling, etc to create a full battery.

The battleborn is a fully enclosed system with quality components backed by a manufacturer warranty and a proven history of effectiveness.

With that said, yes -- for approximately 1/2 the price of a BB, you can purchase RAW cells and build your own pack. That is exactly what many folks on here have done. On the other hand, many people do not find joy in that and want to purchase a turnkey solution. Thankfully we have options!

Being in a sailboat personally I'd want to make sure raw cells were built into a secure structure that limited any movement. You'll need a bms on those raw cells too not just strong them together.

My setup is half of what you proposed. I'm at 560 Ah in a 12v system. To get the equivalent Ah out of Battleborn batteries would be around $5,000. I spent just under $1,000 for my batteries and $240 for the two BMS devices. 20% of the price of Battleborn for similar Ah. I couldn't pass that up.