diy solar

diy solar

Be patient with the new/ignorant guy!

I am also quite new to this all so keep that in mind while I give my noob advice.

Regarding AC use-Max out your Solar, this is more important than batteries in the following scenario:

With my inverter I can use solar as the priority, feeding the loads directly. Lets say my AC uses 1500W, when I run AC on a sunny day, my battery bank is unaffected as the shunt shows me using 200W, since 1300W of the AC demand are being directly provided via the inverter by solar....the batteries do not care about that. I can run the AC all day provided it is sunny, and only lose a little power to my normal loads (Fridge, Laptop, Lights). Obviously if you do not have sun you cannot keep up, so your location will play a factor. When I shut down my solar array, my shunt will update from several days worth of power to about 6hrs max if I were to run AC on batteries only, so using batteries to run AC is not very feasible in my mind.

I have 4 residential panels = 2120W solar.
8 12V 100 ah Batteries in 4S2P. I have 8 as I will put these into a to be built house, you probably do not "need" 8.

edit: seems this aligns with rmaddys post which I had not yet seen. I agree get a mini-split AC if you can, I did not know about them before I purchased a new RV AC, but wish I had gone that route instead.

BTW - consider a mini split A/C instead of a rooftop model. They tend to be far less power hungry, quieter than window units, and they don't take up any roof space.
Hmmmmmmm. Hadn't thought of that. Is that what you have? Are there pics of how you have it mounted?

Hmmmmmmm. Hadn't thought of that. Is that what you have? Are there pics of how you have it mounted?
I don't have a mini split. I have a regular window mounted A/C unit. I didn't really know about mini splits when I was planning. If you search Youtube you should find a few videos of people mounting mini splits in cargo trailers.