diy solar

diy solar

Beginner looking for advice on a basic system

GameboyRavioli

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to solar. I'm going to be replacing my shed soon and thought it'd be a great opportunity to get some power to it. I was thinking about setting up a basic solar system for it. Essentially I'd be looking to power:
  • a stereo receiver (listed at 200w peak), a subwoofer (listed at 100w peak) for maybe 1-2 hours at a time a few days a week.
  • occasionally run a table saw or less power-hungry tools
  • a lightbulb or two
  • maybe a security camera (ie ring, wyze cam, etc)
  • maybe a garage door opener if we build a small garage rather than a shed
  • maybe a space heater, but probably not given the draw
So I guess my questions then are how to make this happen? I found this site through one of Will's videos. He is now my hero! Would the following be sufficient?
  • Two of these panels (or similar)
  • Ecoflow Delta Pro (no additional batteries)
And if the above would work for my needs, I had a few questions:
  • Is it safe to leave the Delta Pro plugged in 24/7?
    • Ecoflow told me: "It is not recommended to use our power station 24/7, you can use it as the emergency back-up."
    • I understand batteries only have so many charges before degradation occurs. If they're 8500 to 80% (or whatever that number is) is true, that's a-ok by me as that's years.
  • Given that I'm in PA and this would be outdoors in an unheated shed (will eventually add insulation, but not immediately), how bad is that for the Delta Pro?
  • Can it be left in the shed year round even though I'd guess the winter can get to -15F (-26C)?
  • I believe it's in WIll's video I linked above where he talked about a rack mount battery essentially sensing the temperature and changing charge habits accordingly for safety. Does the Delta Pro do this do we know?
  • Would I need to / Should I have a grounding rod in the earth for this setup?