diy solar

diy solar

Beginner trying to size my system

Jamie.sanders

Hello, total newbie to Solar, been reading a lot and tons of videos, so much to learn.

I read my 1st step should be budget, I would like to stay under $6,000 I'm building an emergency or SHTF power backup for the house.

2nd step is I'm trying to size my system, I've found the files here about appliance wattage, and googled some of it for my specific items.

ENERGY USAGE

Absolute max -6,000 watts (taking into account the energy surge of the well, refrigerator and deep freeze kicking on all at the same time by chance.)
absolute minimum -818 watts
normal usage - 3,000 (actually like 2,970)

I've read you want 3 days back up power? so now I'm stuck. not sure how to proceed. How many batteries? how many amps worth of panels?

I plane to put together my own Lifepro4 Eve batteries or equivalent (but how many) 24 or 48 volt? from what I've read 12 volt would not be right for me, and go with Rich solar panels, but again how many?

any help, guidance or references would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Not sure how you would build what you’re talking about to provide 6 kw of power for only $6k.

I would think 6000 watts would require 48 volts.

My planning numbers are $15k for a 5kw of panels and install for a grid tied system.

When I start thinking of what you are asking I think I could build something like that for $30k With energy storage. Probably more with three days of back up.

How many times a year will this system be needed? If it's only for emergencies then maybe it will only be used a couple of times per year. Meaning it will sit unused all but a few days a year. Why not buy a simple gas/diesel generator that can be stored away in a shed or the garage most of the year. Dig it out when needed. Way cheaper and simpler than building a rarely used solar setup with panels, inverter, batteries, etc.

To answer the above questions, I’m not going to grid tie.